



Promoting City, Coast & Countryside

Committee: BUDGET AND PERFORMANCE PANEL

Date: TUESDAY, 24TH NOVEMBER 2009

Venue: LANCASTER TOWN HALL

Time: 6.00 P.M.

Councillors are reminded that as Members of Overview and Scrutiny they may not be subjected to the Party Whip, which is prohibited under the Lancaster City Council Constitution.

AGENDA

1. Apologies for Absence

2. Declarations of Interest

3. Minutes

Minutes of the Meeting held on 20th October 2009 (previously circulated).

4. Items of Urgent Business Authorised by the Chairman

5. Report on the Homelessness Prevention Work of the Doorstep Project April -October 2009 (Pages 1 - 7)

Report of Phil McGrath from the YMCA – presentation and questions for a duration of 30 minutes.

6. Cabinet Portfolio Holder Reports (Pages 8 - 61)

Oral reports on range of options identified for making savings and efficiencies in areas of service activity from Councillor Stuart Langhorn – Leader, Councillor June Ashworth - Children and Young People, Councillor Abbott Bryning - Education, Skills and Opportunities, Councillor Jane Fletcher – Valuing People, Councillor Roger Mace – Internal and Councillor Malcolm Thomas – Finance.

Supporting Papers:

- (1) Medium Term Strategy: Finance and Resources Report of Corporate Directors (Finance and Performance and Regeneration) and Head of Financial Services.
- (2) 2010/11 Budget Update Report of Corporate Director (Finance and Performance) and Head of Financial Services.
- (3) CCTV Minute from Overview and Scrutiny Committee attached. A Briefing Note will be circulated to Members.

7. Corporate Performance Monitoring Reports - Quarter 2

The Leader, as Cabinet Member with responsibility for Performance Management, has been invited to present the reports (item to follow).

8. Work Programme Report (Pages 62 - 64)

Report of Head of Democratic Services

ADMINISTRATIVE ARRANGEMENTS

(i) Membership

Councillors Roger Sherlock (Chairman), Emily Heath (Vice-Chairman), Tina Clifford, Jean Dent, Keran Farrow, Sarah Fishwick, Bob Roe, Keith Sowden and John Whitelegg.

(ii) Substitute Membership

Councillors Chris Coates, Roger Dennison, Rebekah Gerrard, Karen Leytham, Roger Plumb, Peter Robinson, Sylvia Rogerson, Morgwn Trolinger and Paul Woodruff.

(iii) Queries regarding this Agenda

Please contact Jane Glenton, Democratic Services - 01524 582068 - jglenton@lancaster.gov.uk.

(iv) Changes to Membership, substitutions or apologies

Please contact Members' Secretary, telephone 582170, or alternatively email memberservices@lancaster.gov.uk.

MARK CULLINAN, CHIEF EXECUTIVE, TOWN HALL, DALTON SQUARE, LANCASTER LA1 1PJ

Published on Monday, 16th November 2009